Posted in General, People, Personal Development, Words of Wisdom

Stuff that, do this!

Tossing a coin is common in many sports, such ...
Image via Wikipedia

Here we go for 2010.

A post about ‘new year’s resolutions’ seems to be the way everyone goes.

I don’t know where I read it first, but I think there is a better way to go about this than compiling a list of objectives and goals which are soon discarded under the pressure of everyday living. Stuff that.

I suggest that you do this (as I will be doing): Pick ONE word as your ‘theme’ for the year.

My word for 2010 is: FINISH.

I am an ideas person. But ideas that are not executed, are worth absolutely nothing. I don’t want to suggest that I am dreamer who never ‘finishes’ anything because as entrepreneur, that would equate to starving. (And in fact, I could do with a bit of starving if you know what I mean J).

But that is the one area where I want to improve because it is not about finishing per se; it is about quality of life.

By focussing on ‘finishing’ I will do less ‘starting’ – and the fewer projects I start, the more time I will have for other things – like reading and playing cricket with my son or going for walks on the beach with my wife. (Why live in Kiama if you don’t capitalise on it, right?)

One word of caution though. Don’t pick a ‘negative word; as in something you WON’T be doing. Don’t say DIET, rather say HEALTH.

So, I won’t be starting anything until I finish something else. I have just chucked a partially completed tender document in the bin. I have made a start…

What is your ‘theme’ in 2010?

Dennis

We have built a place where retailers and suppliers & professionals can share ideas and resources: retailsmartresults.com

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
3 thoughts on “Stuff that, do this!

  1. Don’t know if I have a theme as yet. I haven’t really gotten into the swing of things for 2010, but have a feeling that it’s going to be all about action. For the moment I am still holding my breath 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

