Posted in Customer Service, General, Management, Risk Management, Words of Wisdom

8 lessons learned from owning a dead horse

Some years ago Chris in Dural bought a horse from a farmer for $100.

The farmer agreed to deliver the horse the next day.  The next day the farmer drove up and said, “Sorry, son, but I have some bad news…the horse died.”

Chris replied, “Well, then just give me my money back.”

The farmer said, “Can’t do that.  I went and spent it already.”

Chris said, “OK, then, just bring me the dead horse.”

The farmer asked, “What ya gonna do with him?”

Chris said, “I’m going to raffle him off.”

The farmer said, “You can’t raffle off a dead horse!”

Chris said, “Sure I can; watch me. I just won’t tell anybody he’s dead.”

A month later, the farmer met up with Chris and asked, “What ever happened with that dead horse?”

Chris said, “I raffled him off.  I sold 500 tickets at two dollars apiece and made a profit of $998.”

The farmer said, “Didn’t anyone complain?”

Chris said, “Just the guy who won.  So I gave him his two bucks back.”

Chris grew up and now works for the federal government. He’s the one who figured out how this “bail-out” is going to work.

Lessons to be learned.

  1. Do your math.
  2. Be creative.
  3. Be pragmatic.
  4. Not telling isn’t the same as lying.
  5. Know your punters
  6. Treat your complainants fairly.
  7. Even the worst situation can have a profitable outcome.
  8. You can find a laugh anywhere – even in death.

Any to add?

Leave a Reply

